Homeschool Mother’s Journal

In My Life This Week...

We’ve finally gotten over the flu, that was a doozy.  Somehow someway I managed to not get it, for which I’m extremely grateful.
In our homeschool this week…

We’re finishing up quite a bit of our curriculum this week.  Youngest is starting his next math level, gotta keep him busy.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

Youngest’s birthday party we had to reschedule due to the flu is tomorrow.  Strange to have a party 10 days after his actual birthday.  But the weather is beautiful tomorrow, and they’ll be able to swim:)

My favorite thing this week was…

This is my second to last 2 day workweek.  5 weeks until I’m a SAHM again!

What’s working/not working for us…

I’ve really got to get a responsibility/chore schedule together.  My plan is to implement this once I’m home full-time again.

Large Family Logistics

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

Can’t believe we’re finishing up our 9th year, and that next year I won’t have any elementary age kids.  I’m too young for this to be!  Or maybe not…

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

“…we must not be surprised if we are in for a rough time.  When a man turns to Christ and seems to be getting on pretty well (in the sense that some of his bad habits are now corrected), he often feels that it would now be nature if things went fairly smoothly.  When troubles come along – illnesses, money troubles, new kinds of temptation – he is disappointed.  These things, he feels, might have been necessary to rouse him and make him repent in his bad old days: but why no?  Because God is forcing him on, or up, to a higher level; putting him into situations where he will have to be very much braver, or more patient, or more loving, than he ever dreamed of being before.  It seems to us all unnecessary; but that is because we have not had the slightest notion of what the tremendous thing He means to make of us.”

-C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

12 responses to “Homeschool Mother’s Journal

  1. I love anything by C.S. Lewis – I have run across three of his quotes today! I’m glad to “meet” you – never been to your blog before. I’m admiring the fact that you’ve been homeschooling for nine years!

    ~Mary

  2. I’m excited for you to be a SAHM!!! Then maybe I can actually see my friend more than just at the 2 to 3 times a year at birthday parties. 🙂 I enjoy your writing style – keep it coming!

  3. I love C.S. Lewis, I haven’t been able to read Mere Christianity yet. It is on my list but I have so much else to read right now. lol Glad you will be able to a SAHM, I love it myself.

    • Vickie,

      I actually have an entire bookshelf full of only books I still need to read, so I can truly identify:) I was a SAHM for 13 years, have been working with my husband for the last 2 years out of necessity. God has seen fit to bring both of us home, and I’m so thrilled.

  4. I just had to meet another Lisa K!!! Stopping by on the HMJ meme. I have a “small” large family and I really enjoyed Large Family Logistics as well. I am now following your blog .

  5. ….hmmm….at least I think my ‘subscribe by email to this site’ request went through….

  6. So God is bringing you “higher up and further in,” too. Difficult at times, but ultimately a blessing.

Leave a Reply

