ADD-Mama

I have figured out within the last 6 months that I meet the criterion for ADD.  Explains a lot of things about my childhood, and my life in general.  I always thought there had to be the hyperactivity aspect to it.  Not so. .  Why I could score so high on my ACT (high enough to qualify for multiple scholarships) but didn’t have the GPA to go with it.  Why I qualified for the Gifted and Talented program at school, but was utterly bored with the whole thing.

My biggest ah-ha moment, an explanation to why I ABHOR Chuck-E-Cheese.  The thought of it makes my skin crawl.  I think whoever invented Chuck-E-Cheese is EVIL.  I don’t like it very much.  Just in case you were wondering.

So in retrospect, is it any surprise that my youngest son does his math by taking a look at the problem, and then walking, running, skipping until he figures out the answer, writes it down, onto next problem, until it’s finished?  Or that he starts conversations in the middle of a thought and I have to ask him to “rewind” his thoughts so I can understand the context?

I think not.  And I’d miss all that makes him who he is if I tried to change what helps him learn and communicate.  Trying to figure out how to corral my ADD and his has been similar to a dance.  The only one I can even remotely manage the choreography (my brain and body don’t work well together).

Leave a Reply

