What I’m Reading Wednesday – 4/27/11

What I finished:

Better Off by Eric Brende

Overall an interesting book.  Some good points.  But pretty much nil on the practicability of living without technology.  Glad I read it, but glad it was a library book.

Rosemary Gladstar’s Herbal Recipes for Vibrant Health by Rosemary Gladstar

I really appreciated her overview of the herbs and her recipes.  Lots of pictures, which always helps me.  Still feel very overwhelmed, but that’s not her fault.  A friend of mine let me borrow Making Herbs Vol. 1 by Shoshanna Easling of Bulk Herb Store.  I really liked this a lot, as I am a visual learner.  It made me want to go back and look at the Rosemary Gladstar book again and take a try at making my own concoctions and poultices.  I’ll keep you updated.

Christianity Is Jewish by Edith Schaeffer

Edith Schaeffer is one of my favorite authors.   The premise of this book is to explain the bible to Jewish people, to show them how the entire bible points to Jesus as the Messiah.  A Genesis to Revelation overview.  Not a hard book to read, and very insightful.  An interesting thing happened as I was finishing the book.  My oldest (15 yo son) was asking his father how to explain the gospel to a Jew.  I was able to hand this to him as a resource.

What I’m Still Reading:

Surviving Off Off-Grid by Michael Bunker

I’m still really enjoying this book.  I really enjoy the historical overview that this has.  Highly considering making this required reading for my high schooler’s American History.  The revisionist history taught in most curriculum is tainting our kid’s worldview.  Now getting into the more practical parts of it.  God would definitely have to move for us to see this come to pass, but I know He’s capable.  Choosing to trust and take it one step at a time.  I highly recommend this book so far.

Books new this week:

Surprised By Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church by N.T. Wright

I’m very fascinated by this book.  Not convinced I’ll necessarily agree with it all, but if nothing else it has made me go read my Bible for myself and not just believe everything I’ve been taught from the pulpit.  The pastor I grew up with taught from the bible and the USA Today, New York Times, etc. and always believed we were in the End Times and used quite a bit of fear.  I do believe we’re in the End Times but finally am not afraid of all that entails as I was as a child.  Only on page 9 so far in this book, but looking forward to it.

Dietrich Bonhoeffer: A Biography by Eberhard Bethge

If you stay reading this blog for a awhile (which I hope you do) you might hear about this book for awhile, if not simply for the fact that it’s 1048 pages long! I first read The Cost of Discipleship back probably 10 years ago.  I consider it in my top 10 of “Books I Would Take With Me If I Were To Be Stranded on a Desert Island”.  I highly respect Dietrich Bonhoeffer and am looking forward to this, written by one of his best friends.

Thanks for coming with me on my reading journey, ’til next week!

Leave a Reply

