Getting to “that” age.

Well, I’m technically past “that” age, you know, the one that causes your health insurance to go up and causes doctors to think you need umpteen medical tests just because you hit the 4-0.  Did my body know or something and decide to quit?  Hey, I’ve been a type 1 diabetic for 31 years.  I’ve done the gamut of tests, doctor visits, etc.  But then I arrived here at this time and all of a sudden I’m fodder to make my primary doctor rich.   Don’t get me wrong, I like the guy.  But heck, this is nuts!  After the first year, I think I had 6 extra  tests.  Which all turned out fine.  But now he wants to start the merry go round all over again.  Why?  Because something might be wrong.  Might be.

I’m considered a “non-compliant” patient.  I have been fired from at least one doctor (I considered throwing a party, just visiting his office gave me a stomachache).  It’s not like I am not willing to seriously consider what they tell me to do.  I just do research, and sometimes decide the pros outweigh the cons.  Really.  So, this medicine may help one area but may cause my liver to fail?  OK, I’ve already got at least 2 organs on the fritz, and I’m going to purposefully take something that could make it 3?  No, not at this point.

But on the other hand, I haven’t always made the best decisions diet wise.  Not by a long shot.  So I’m going out on a limb here.  This summer, my goal is to eat food God made, not Nestle and Pepsi and the like.  To learn to make the food myself.  To try at least 3-4 new to me veggies/fruit a month.  Not all at once.  One thing at a time.  Or I know me, I’ll just get overwhelmed and quit.  I’m almost finished with the GNOWFGLINS fundamental course and will be starting the Sourdough class by next weekend (I’ve got to get some sourdough starter from my good friend Sandy next week).  I will be trying milk kefir again, once I get some healthy grains (my first batch never did rehydrate).  And my family is begging me to make Kombucha again.   All while we plan some possibly long term road time.  So, slow and ready wins the race.  I’ll keep this updated better, and let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

