Homeschool Mother’s Journal w/e May 21st, 2011


In my life this week…

Spent a lot of time waiting at our rental properties for people who made appointments and then never showed up.  Soooo frustrating!

Went over to a new friends house while my oldest son taught her oldest the beginning of learning to trade Forex.  We had fun playing Bananagrams and talking about homeschooling and homesteading.

In our homeschool this week…

Still slow.  Math, reading and planning for next year.  Wanting to change directions on how we proceed, especially with my youngest.  The last 2 years with me working several days a week necessitated lots of textbooks and workbooks.  That seems to work OK for him, but I see an attitude of “let me conquer this so I can get on with what I really want to do.”  Working on the heart, both of ours, is where I desire to journey

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

We’re going to attend a Project Appleseed weekend starting tomorrow.  Interested to see how it goes.  I’ve heard a lot of good things about it.

My favorite thing this week was…

Got some really good news this week.  Not gonna tell though until it’s for sure!   And no, I’m not pregnant.

What’s working/not working for us…

Finally figured out to take a book with me while waiting for potential tenants.  That way I didn’t feel like my time was so wasted.  Still want to make my going out days less.  Seems like I’m out everyday, and that’s not what I want.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

Trying to plan/figure out my oldest’s curriculum/plan for Fine Arts.  Not his favorite thing, so he’s not too thrilled.  Want to make it not too overwhelming, but still High School Level.  He wants to do some drawing, and thinking of integrating some art appreciation.  Decisions, decisions!

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

“To allow oneself to be carried away by a multitude of conflicting concerns, to surrender to too many demands, to commit oneself to too many projects, to want to help everyone in everything, is to succumb to the violence of our times.”
— Thomas Merton


6 responses to “Homeschool Mother’s Journal w/e May 21st, 2011

  1. I spend alot of time waiting for kids at activities and finally broke down and bought the NOOKcolor and I love it. small, fits in my purse and i am now never without something for me or the kids to read and no longer taking books everywhere. can’t wait to hear what the good news is! stopping by from the HMJ linkup. blessings, Katie

  2. Feeling like you’ve wasted your time is one of the worst things. Bringing a book along seems like a good idea. It’s a shame people just don’t show up.

    Stopping by from THMJ!

  3. Ugh! I hate waiting for others and for them not to show I think my blood would boil. hahahaha…. I thought doctors were the worst about making people wait but it sounds like potential tenants are the worse. Currclick is offering some online classes, wonder if they have anything high school fine arts related? Have you ever checked into Homeschool Buyer’s Co-op? They offer discounted curriculum, classes, etc.

Leave a Reply

